Student Awards

CEE Student Awards from July 2012-October 2013

See CEE News & Events for more information.

Undergraduates from CEE's Airport Design class (CE 153) won second place at the National Federal Aviation Administration Airport Management and Planning Challenge for a design that would enable airports to increase capacity without additional infrastructure, as well as help airlines decrease flight delays, gate delay variance, and fuel usage.  CEE majors Katharina McLaughlinJoanna JiHoang Ngujen, Joshua Sachse, and Alex Cuevas, with Haas Business major, Mattan Mansoor, were advised by Dr. Jasenka Rakas, temporary instructor.

Nine CEE student instructors received the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award for 2012-13. They are: Josh Apte and Emily Novick (ENV); Hamed Hamedifar and Justin Hollenback (GEO); Michael Seelhorst and Julia Griswold (TRAN); Neal Simon Kwong, Serena Zhu, and Belinda Li (SEMM).

Undergraduate majors were honored with departmental scholarships at the annual Faculty/Staff Spring Social. Recipients of the Beaver Heavy Construction Scholarship were Daniel DiChiro, Erick Paepke, Ryan Sanders, and Henry Sweat. The Chevron Environmental Engineering Scholarship went to George Greer, Ian Jaffe, Michael Nole, Frank Qian, and Jeff Semigran. The Theodore Olsen Scholarship was awarded to Fayad Raman. Recipients of the John C. Shimmick Scholarship were Bea Arostegui, Kathleen Derby, and Anne Halvorson. And the Ulchi and Yoshiko Sunada Scholarship went to Jeffry Kwan and Andreanna Tzortzis.

Graduate students in CEE Professor Slav Hermanowicz's Lab and collaborators were finalists for the Odebrecht Award for Sustainable Development. Vivek Rao (Mechanical Engineering), Henry Kagey (CEE Civil Systems) and David Campbell (Architecture) were recognized as a top-three team finalist in the Odebrecht Award for Sustainable Development competition for developing photocatalytic water treatment reactors for use in building facades.

Juan Argote, Transportation Engineering PhD student, received the Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship. Argote researches how to improve the reliability of multiple bus lines traveling on a particular transportation corridor.

André Carrel, Transportation Engineering PhD student, received the Eno Award, one of only 20 such awards given out nationally by the Eno Center for Transportation. Carrel was also honored by the Eno Center with the Charles William Koch Award, which recognizes exceptional academic achievement and leadership qualities.

André Carrel and Anne Halvorsen, CEE undergraduate, collaborated on a poster that received second place in Overall Excellence from the University of California Transportation Center (UCTC). Their poster is titled "Passengers' Perception of and Behavioral Adaptation to Unreliability in Public Transportation."

SEMM PhD student Kemel Celik received an outstanding paper award at the International Conference on Sustainable Construction Materials and Technologies (SCMT3) in Japan for his paper, "A Comparative Study of Self-Consolidating Concretes Incorporating High Volume Natural Pozzolan or High Volume Fly Ash."  The awarding winning paper was also selected for submission for the special edition of Construction and Building Materials Journal. Professor Paulo Monteiro is Celik's advisor.

Mike George, Geo-Engineering PhD student, received the 2013 US Society of Dams scholarship for his research on rock scour. George is working on developing state-of-the-art methodologies for the prediction of scour in blocky rock masses.

Katie Leung, Transportation Engineering master's student, won the grand prize in the 2013 Institute of Transportation Engineers San Francisco Bay Area Section student paper competition. Her paper was titled "Connecting Vehicles and ITS infrastructure."

Yi Liu, graduate student in Transportation Engineering, is the first student from Berkeley ever to receive a Graduate Research Award on Public-Sector Aviation issues. Liu's was one of 10 stipends awarded nationally for 2012-2013. She received the award for her research proposal to assist the Federal Aviation Administration to implement a performance-based Ground Delay Program (GDP) using multiple criteria.

CEE major Marina Mautner was honored with UC Education Abroad Program's Undergraduate Research Award for her experiment comparing soil characteristics and pharmaceutical degradation rates in irrigation water in Mexico's Tula Valley. Mautner was selected because her research exemplifies the kind of learning from education abroad that UCEAP seeks to promote.

John W. Murphy, Geo-Engineering master's student, received the Tor L. Brekke Award. The Brekke Award recognizes a student who has contributed most to the overall spirit of learning, teamwork, cohesiveness and success of the MS student group. The award recipient is selected by a vote of the current faculty and students.

Matthew William Over, Environmental Engineering PhD student, won the Roy G. Post Scholarship for 2013. He is currently working on his dissertation on efficient hydrogeological model inversion techniques.

Christina Poindexter, Environmental Engineering PhD student, is one of 6 recipients of the Chang-Lin Tien Graduate Fellowship in the Environmental Sciences for 2012-13.

CEE undergraduate researcher Henry Sweat received a 2013 Scholarship Award for the Study of Concrete Masonry from Concrete Masonry Association of California and Nevada (CMACN). This is the first time a CEE undergraduate researcher has received this scholarship. In the past, only graduate researchers received the scholarship.

Francesco Tatone, Geo-Engineering master's student, received the Harry Bolton Seed Award. The Seed Award recognizes outstanding academic accomplishment in the Geo-Engineering MS program. It is awarded annually by the vote of the faculty for the best academic performance by a student in the graduating MS class.

Iris Tien, PhD candidate in Civil Systems, received "The Student Paper Award in Probabilistic Methods" by the Engineering Mechanics Institute. Tien's "A Compression Algorithm for Inference in Bayesian Network Models of Infrastructure Systems" was one of three papers to be honored with the EMI's highest award for student papers.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) awarded Geo-Engineering PhD student, Yang Zhao, the award for best paper in its Leading Edge division. Zhao's paper was titled "Microseismic Interferometry."

Published 10/22/2013