Two CEE Faculty Elected to NAE

We congratulate Carlos Daganzo and Jack Moehle, who were among the 67 individuals elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) for 2014.

Carlos Daganzo

Carlos Daganzo, Chancellor Professor of the Graduate School, and retired Robert Horonjeff Chair in Civil and Environmental Engineering, was elected to NAE for his operations research contributions to traffic, transportation, and logistics systems and operations.

Daganzo was appointed to the Berkeley faculty in 1976 and retired in 2012. He is now board chair, and principal scientist of Via Analytics, a California Benefit corporation devoted to improving mobility through technology. Daganzo is recognized internationally as a preeminent operations research and transportation scholar, having sole-authored more than 80 archival journal articles and 4 books. 

Daganzo received Berkeley’s 2008 Faculty Mentor Award for his outstanding commitment to graduate students. Many of his 37 PhD students hold faculty positions at top-ranked schools of engineering, business and management. He is the only person alive to have received a Tribute from the International Symposium on Transportation and Traffic Theory (in 2011) for his wide-ranging contributions to transportation science.

In 2012 he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Polytechnic University of Catalonia in Barcelona, Spain, for his overall scientific work and for conceptualizing the blueprint for Barcelona’s new high-performance bus system. In 2013, he received the Robert Herman Lifetime Award in Transportation Science from INFORMS.

Jack Moehle

Jack Moehle, T.Y. and Margaret Lin Professor of Engineering, was elected to NAE for his contributions to earthquake-resistant design and analysis of building structures, and for leadership in engineering education.

Moehle is acknowledged internationally as a leader in performance-based earthquake engineering, and the behavior and design of reinforced concrete buildings.

Moehle was founding director of the National Science Foundation-sponsored Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center, serving for 10 years. He also was principal investigator for the nees@berkeley experimental equipment site that was developed for NSF's Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation.

Moehle's “Guidelines for Performance-Based Seismic Design of Tall Buildings” is the most widely applied design guideline for practicing engineers working in this field. Guidelines was recognized with the Award of Excellence (SEAONC), the Excellence Award (SEAOC), Top 25 Newsmakers (Engineering News Record), and Award in Excellence (Western States Seismic Policy Council).

Moehle is the incoming chair of the American Concrete Institute Committee 318, Building Code, which is responsible for developing the design requirements for reinforced concrete buildings throughout the US. He previously served 3 terms as chair of the Seismic Provisions Subcommittee of ACI 318. In 2005, he received the prestigious Distinguished Lecturer Award from the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice, or education and who are pioneers of new and developing fields of technology,

See NAE New Members press release (Feb. 6. 2014)

Published 05/09/2014