Student Awards

CEE Student Awards from October 2013 to April 2014

See CEE News & Events for more information.

Eight student instructors were selected as recipients of the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award for 2013-14. They were selected for their capacity to promote critical thinking, presentation skills, command of the subject area, and utilization of effective approaches to promote learning.

Congratulations to: Hanna Breunig (ENV); Kemal Celik (SEMM); Caroline Delaire (ENV); Thanh Do Ngoc (SEMM); Craig Hargis (SEMM); Sunny Mistry (Mech Eng); Andreanna Tzortzis (SEMM); and Aaron Yung (SEMM).

Environmental Engineering PhD student Rabia Chaudhry received the Soroptimist Founder Region Fellowship, which is awarded to a select group of women who have advanced to candidacy in their doctoral programs. Chaudhry's research aims to promote water reuse through understanding virus removal mechanisms in wastewater treatment.

Geo-engineering PhD candidate Paul Selvadurai received the American Geophysical Union Outstanding Student Paper Award for his paper, "Laboratory Investigations into Micromechanical Mechanisms Controlling Earthquake Nucleation," which he presented at the AGU conference in San Francisco last December. Only 4% of the students among the 20,000 attendees receive this award

Maggie Witt and Yi Liu, Transportation Engineering graduate students, were awarded scholarships through the San Francisco chapter of the Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS) Foundation.

Liu won the WTS Dana Hook Leadership Legacy Scholarship, which takes its name from a former chair of the WTS International Board of Directors. Witt received the Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship, which was established in memory of the first Executive Secretary of WTS.

Published 05/09/2014