Faculty Awards

CEE Faculty Awards from October 2013 to April 2014

See CEE News & Events for more information.

Lisa Alvarez-Cohen received the 2015 Simon W. Freese Environmental Engineering Award for her outstanding achievements in environmental microbiology and biotechnology, for supporting environmental engineering education, and for advancing the civil and environmental engineering profession.

Alexandre Bayen won IEEE's Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize for his contributions to control and estimation of partial differential equations with applications to large scale sensing in traffic flow and shallow water systems.  Bayen also received ASCE's Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Prize. He was selected "for pioneering design and deployment of mobile sensing and measurement to the design and management of civil engineering systems, and path-breaking research on algorithm design and implementation in the control and optimization of transportation networks."

Michael Cassidy and his students were awarded Transportation Research Board's Cunard Award for their paper titled "Inhomogeneous flow patterns in under-saturated road networks and implications for the Macroscopic Fundamental Diagram." 

Carlos Daganzo and Jack Moehle were elected to the National Academy of Engineering.  Daganzo was elected for his outstanding contributions to traffic, transportation, and logistics systems and operations, and Moehle for his earthquake-resistant design and analysis of building structures, and for leadership in engineering education. 

Armen Der Kiureghian received the ASCE 2014 George Winter Award for his scholarly contributions to the fields of structural reliability, risk analysis, random vibrations, and earthquake engineering, for his numerous outreach activities with significant social impact, and especially for his contributions to fine arts through landscape and still life painting.  Der Kiureghian was also awarded the honorary title of "TUM Ambassador" for his outstanding research work that contributed to the international reputation of Technische Universität München.

Ashok Gadgil was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame for 2 inventions that have helped millions of people in remote areas: UV Waterworks, a low-powered water disinfection system that uses UV light to kill pathogens, and the Berkeley-Darfur Stove, which reduces fuel demands of those in displacement camps.  Gadgil also received Berkeley's "International House Alumni of the Year" award for 2014. He was recognized for "shaping a world of greater well-being."

David Jenkins was elected to Honorary Life Membership in the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists in recognition of "his position of eminence in the environmental engineering and science field and his sustained contributions to the advancement of environmental engineering and science."

William Nazaroff's article, "Dermal Uptake of Organic Vapors Commonly Found in Indoor Air," was the second runner-up among Environmental Science & Technology's (ES&T) Best Paper Awards for 2013 (Environmental Science division). The article's co-author was Charles Weschler.  Articles were selected for the award on the basis of their high quality and because the selection committee believed they would likely have a significant and long-lasting impact on their fields.

Sally Thompson received the American Geophysical Union's Early Career Hydrologic Sciences Award. She is the first woman to receive this award, and only the second woman to receive any award from the Hydrology Division at AGU.  Thompson and her team have also been awarded one of the Critical Zone Observatories from the National Science Foundation where she will study the Eel River CZO in Northern California.

Published 05/09/2014