Jack P. Moehle


Chester P. Siess Award: University of Illinois, 1980

Regents Junior Faculty Fellowship, University of California, 1981

Chi Epsilon Excellence in Teaching Award, Pacific District, 1986

Huber Research Prize, ASCE, 1990

CE Alumni Association Young Civil Engineers Achievement Award, University of Illinois, 1990

Fellow of the American Concrete Institute (ACI), 1990

Roy W. Carlson Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering, 1993-1998

Alfred E. Lindau Award, ACI/Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute, March 1998

ERICO Award from ERICO, Inc. (Concrete Reinforcement Products), March 1998

Extraordinary Achievement in Seismic Rehabilitation of Buildings, Applied Technology Council, July 1998

Outstanding 1998 Journal Paper, for “Evolution of Seismic Building Design Practice in Japan,” Los Angeles Tall Buildings Structural Design Council, May 1999

Delmar E. Bloem Distinguished Service Award, ACI, March 2001

Fellowship, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, April-May 2002.

The Annual Distinguished Lecture Award, Earthquake Engineering Research Institute, 2005

Distinguished Alumnus Award, Civil Engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2005

Honorary Member, Structural Engineers Association of Northern California, 2006

Best Journal Paper of the Year, for “Seismic Analysis, Design, and Review of Tall Buildings,” The Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings Journal, 2006.

Chester Paul Siess Award for Excellence in Structural Research, ACI, 2007.

Arthur J. Boase Award, Concrete Research Council, ACI, 2008.

President’s Award, Los Angeles Tall Buildings Structural Design Council, 2008.

Award of Excellence (SEAONC), and Excellence Award (SEAOC) for SEAONC Recommended Administrative Bulletin on Seismic Design Review of Tall Buildings Using Non-Prescriptive Procedures, 2008.

Fellow, Structural Engineers Association of California (SEAOC), 2008

Outstanding Paper Award, Earthquake Spectra, 2009

Award of Excellence (SEAONC), and Excellence Award (SEAOC) for Tall Buildings Initiative Guidelines on Performance-Based Seismic Design of Tall Buildings, 2011

The Top 25 Newsmakers, Engineering News Record, 2011

Award in Excellence, for the Tall Buildings Initiative, WSSPC, 2013

National Academy of Engineering, election year 2014

Helmut Krawinkler Award, SEAONC, 2014

National Academy of Engineering, election year 2014

Academia de Ingeniería Mexico, Académico Correspondiente, election year 2015

Fellow, Structural Engineers Institute, American Society of Civil Engineers, 2015

Exceptional Public- and Private-Sector Research and Development Program, Tall Building Seismic Design Guidelines, ATC/SEI Award, 2015