Lisa Alvarez-Cohen

•     SERDP Project of the Year Award, Environmental Restoration     2017

•     China 1,000 Talents National Award, Foreign National Expert     2016

•     ASCE Simon W. Freese Environmental Engineering Award     2014

•     Honorary Professor, Tongji University, Shanghai, P.R. of China     2013

•     Elected to the National Academy of Engineering     2010

•     Named one of “6 Scientists on the Cutting Edge of Energy and Environmental     2009
Research” by USNews and World Report                                                                  

•     Advisor to winner of CH2M Hill/AEESP Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award     2008

•     Environmental Science and Technology Excellence in Review Award     2006

•     Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors Distinguished Service Award     2003

•     Elected Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology     2002

•     Awarded the Fred and Claire Sauer Chair in Environmental Engineering     2001

•     National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award     1994-1999

•     W. M. Keck Foundation Award for Engineering Teaching Excellence     1994

     Advisor to one undergraduate and three graduate student winners of     1994, 1998
Water Environment Federation Student Paper Competition and graduate
winner of the American Society of Civil Engineers Student Essay Competition

     Voted “Most Entertaining Lecturer” and “Most Enthusiastic Professor” by     1993, 1996
Berkeley Undergraduate Chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers

     Department of Energy Environmental Restoration and Waste Management     1992-1994
Junior Faculty Award

•     Association of Environmental Engineering Professors Doctoral Thesis Award     1992

     University of California President's Post-Doctoral Fellowship     1991

     Switzer Foundation Graduate Scholarship     1989-1991

     AWWA Larson Aquatic Research Support Scholarship     1989

     American Chemical Society Graduate Student Award in Environmental Chemistry    1989                                                                              

     National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship     1985-1988